Posted by : Waqas Javed Monday, 15 September 2014

A review and information on bit, byte, kilobyte (KB), megabyte (MB), gigabyte (GB), terabyte (TB).

A lot of you have confusion about what is MB KB GB in the computer terms. So let me tell the firstly that these are all the units of memory. The smallest unit of memory is a bit in which a single binary digit could be stored. The next unit is a byte which consist of 8 bits. KB means 1024 bytes for simplicity they are usually taken as 1000 bytes. The next unit is MB it is mega byte consist of 1000 KB. And the next one that is GB is 1000 MB. Further comes the TB terabyte which is of 1000 GB.

All these units are frequently used in describing computer hardware like hard disk RAM as they are memory storage units. RAM is temporary storage and Hard disk is the permanent storage where you could save all your data.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Posts | Subscribe to Comments

Popular Post

Powered by Blogger.

- Copyright © BSCS -Metrominimalist- Powered by Blogger - Designed by Johanes Djogan -